Darby Smart October 2014 Craft Subscription Box Review!

Haunted-Houses-Pic

Darby Smart

Cost:  $19 per month

What is Darby Smart?

Darby Smart not only offers subscribers a surprise mystery craft box to your door monthly, but they also sell One-Time Purchase DIY  boxes! The project gives you everything you need to complete the crafting task they send you. If you want to try your hand in creative projects and DIY’s then this is the box for you.

If you want to see my last Darby Smart DIY click here!

On with the the October… Halloween Review!

IMG_6326.JPG

Darby Smart includes everything needed for your monthly project. However they do not supply a paper list or project instructions. All instructions are available online at their site http://www.darbysmart.com/howto and a code is supplied each month to view it. For this project I really wished I had a paper version of the instructions because for me and my kids this project got really messy…lol.

IMG_6327.JPG

The Project is the Haunted House Gingerbread House…. yum… I got my trick and treat in the same box.

Included in the box was the Gingerbread House Cookies

IMG_6328.JPG

Three types of icing

Although the instructions stated the icing would loosen after squishing the bags, the icing was still the consistency of play-doh. Making it very hard to work with. IMG_6329.JPG

Candy Jewels –

I am not sure what happened to all the candy for my project, but I do know one thing….My kids were hyped up after the project concluded….. mysteriously!

IMG_6330.JPG

The Piping bags-

These bags were useless when trying to use the hard playdoh like icing, so we ended up cutting the edges of the icing bags and using our hands.

IMG_6381.JPG

As you can see, this project did not work out so well but it was quite entertaining. Pictured above is my sons house that was slowly falling apart.

IMG_6384.JPG

Here is my masterpiece. Ok, its not so much a masterpiece but it was a fun Halloween project.

IMG_6385.JPG

Excuse the blurry picture, but I had my son take a picture of the evidence…. our finger painting icing covered hands. As mentioned above, we had quite a difficult time trying to get the icing out of the bag, so we used our hands to spread the icing which helped melt the icing from the heat of our hands.

The project was a great project for Halloween and a project that I almost paid more for at Target! I saw this same kit at target for at least $19.99, which I was able to snag a three month subscription so the box was even cheaper than the $19.99 it usually is… what a deal!

If you want to try your hand in creative projects and DIY’s then this is the box for you.

Have you tried Darby Smart? What did you think?

One response to “Darby Smart October 2014 Craft Subscription Box Review!

  1. Pingback: Darby Smart November 2014 Craft Subscription Box Review! | The Subscriptionist·

Leave a comment