Curlbox June 2015 Subscription Box Review – “Attention Hair Product Junkies”!

Curlbox

Cost: $20 per month plus shipping ($5)

Subscription waiting list – opens most Saturdays.

What is Curlbox?

Naturally curly women have their hands full with trying to maintain our tousled waves and decadent curls. Now curly haired girls of all textures can experience new and even cutting edge products every month; shipped directly to your home. No more worrying about that overwhelming feeling when looking at all the choices in the isles and isles of products in every store, because now you can rest assured that every month affordable products will arrive like clock work every month on your doorstep! Every month subscribers will receive 5-7 hair products (a mix of Full and sample sized products).

Since I am trying to revert my hair back. to its natural curly state I need all the help I can get, so I am trying Curlbox for the first time! My children also have coarse and thick textured curly hair so we all go through tons of hair products, which can be very expensive when you are experimenting on new hair remedies. One thing I don’t like about Curlbox, is if you find you are not a fan of a line you receive the whole box of products are useless, since they typically saturate a box from one brand every month.

On with June 2015 Curl Box review!   Included in every box is a quick reference guide that includes a letter from the editor and run down of the items included.

This Month we received a whole box dedicated to the brand Carol’s Daughter (one of my faves)! This particular line cater’s to those looking for Natural remedies for their kinks and curls! I have been a fan of this line for a very long time and rarely find a product I don’t like! Mirabelle Plum Dual Oil Treatment (Full Size) $10 & Sacred Tiare Anti-Breakage (Full Size) $10

This oil contains some of my favorite ingredients such as Mirabelle Plums, Biotin,Grapeseed Oil, and Sweet Almond Oil! I used this immediately and love the non-greasy moisturized feel of my hair! A new fave oil!

This is the first time trying the Sacred Tiare styling cream, but it won’t be the last time! In combination with several other products I received in this box, I found that this cream provided my hair with added strength and ease in styling! This is another product I will probably invest in for life!

Hair Milk Original Leave-In Moisturizer (Full Size) $12 & Black Vanilla Moisture & Shine Leave-In Conditioner (Full Size) $11

As a mixed girl, I often found myself toggling between brands that were not really made for my hair type. Brands like living proof and creme of nature work but are not exactly made for my hair… however, the Carol’s Daughter brand allows my naturally curly hair the freedom to specify my needs based on how I style it! The leave-in is one of the Top 5 that I use when trying to de-frizz my curly mane and de-stress my breakage!

Talking about a scent that is addictive and lasts…. this black vanilla leave-in leaves your hair soft and can be sprayed as a refresher to curls without causing build up! Love it!

Mimosa Hair Honey (Full Size) $12

This best seller is a best seller for a reason! I have never had a product work so good to de-frizz my hair! I can use it for ultra sleek looks, as an edger, or even to define curls! This pomade is absolutely amazing! The Shea Butter and Cocoa butter sent lasts and every time I apply this stuff my hair is flawless throughout the rain and humidity!

All-in-all, I paid around $25 (includes $5 shipping) for my box and always receive over that value in Full Size hair products. This month was the best month ever!!!!! Curlbox always had a consistent curation and this month was no exception! I received over $55 in Full Sized Carol’s Daughter’s Products and love every single one! Some of these products were major life changers and that is an unmeasurable value! If you are a hair product junkie, transitioning back to your natural locks (like me), or just have curly hair than this box is a must in order to bulk up on some of the newer over-the-counter brands!

And yes, this box is labeled as a subscription for Women of Color, but that doesn’t mean that you have to be a women of color to subscribe! Many of these products are specifically designed to bring flawless finishes to all women based on curly hair needs! This month was a perfect example of that!

I always end up going for the straight look, but found that I will toggle back and forth during the summer heat. The products contained in these boxes for the most part are fantastic for smooth or curly looks regardless of race!

What do you think about Curlbox?

Leave a Reply

